i Cryptic Crossword 1515 Nestor

December 17, 2015

I blame Cornick, who commented last week “Am I the only one who quite misses the stinkers from Nimrod, Bannsider or Scorpion?” 😉 That said, this wasn’t a stinker, but it was certainly a little more challenging that we’ve been used to over recent weeks. Nestor’s puzzles are usually challenging, but always fair, as was this one, with the notable exception of 14ac, which was my last one in. Checking letters of ‘T.A.’, and quite obscure wordplay, this was a clue that should perhaps have been rethought.

COD? Amongst many many good clues, I’m nominating 19ac – ‘Seen in close-up, hem is model’s attempt to avoid offence (9)’.

Back to April 2011 once more on Fifteensquared:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/25/independent-7651-nestor/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1515 Nestor”

  1. Cornick said

    Ha! Mea culpa. Actually I found the bulk of this one – the middle and the long ones – a joy, but each of the four corners brought on its own fresh dollop of exasperation… Thank you for pointing me to the parsing of 14a, which I would never have got, and I too loved that long hidden at 18a.

  2. AndyT said

    I’m not generous with ticks but today there are nine of them, making me a very happy customer indeed. Agreed, 14ac is distinctly “adventurous”, but it worked for me, just about … and 6d got an audible chuckle along with a “see me” for cheek. Otherwise, all scrupulously fair. The best puzzle in the i for a long time I think, so taking Tuesday into account we’re doing well this week.

  3. dtw42 said

    Hm, must be just me then, that didn’t like this much. I stuck 14ac in about halfway through without really understanding it (put the right answer in, thankfully). Got stuck on 18, 23, and 27, which were finally put in with help from my girlfriend. Hey ho, horses for courses.

    • sprouthater said

      No its not just you. I find some of Nestor’s clues are brilliant but others just seem to me to be wrong in some way.

  4. Lozzie said

    Managed to finish at second attempt after getting completely stuck earlier on, impressed with the well-hidden “cut out” in 19A EUPHEMISM, don’t think anyone is entirely happy with 14A THAW however it is a little different in approach.

Comments are closed.

