i Cryptic Crossword 1513 Tees

December 15, 2015

And today’s theme is… Tees as the Jeremiah who was clued in yesterday’s crossword (thanks, dtw42). Does he know something we don’t? Hopefully not, as I wouldn’t have bothered with my Christmas shopping otherwise. Lots of long anagrams to unscramble, but the answers were for the most part fairly self evident, even when they were unfamiliar (5d). Quite a few went in without fully understanding what was going on, but for the most part it didn’t matter. The clue which caused me the most difficulty was 22ac, where neither of the definitions were that familiar.

COD? 18ac was quite clever, but I’m nominating 25d – ‘Letter to Greeks in Shorter Collins (3)’.

Here’s the 2011 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/03/24/independent-7624tees/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1513 Tees”

  1. dtw42 said

    1ac was actually my favourite here; raised a chuckle.

  2. Cornick said

    Well crosswords are a matter of personal preference and this was EXACTLY my 14a. Originality, wit, devilment and a great sense of achievement upon completion. Very happy with that.

    • AndyT said

      Oh, botheration. I was forced to forego the paper today … it might be possible to scrounge a photocopy at the library tomorrow though, assuming nobody has seen fit to fill it in.

  3. Lozzie said

    Enjoyed this also, thought anagram for 15D was good, 10A as well, though the initial “e” was obvious from the linking 5D answer, making it easier than otherwise may have been the case.

  4. AndyT said

    A friend was kind enough to email me a photo of the puzzle, so I wound up doing it on graph paper, looking up at the screen for the clues. Clearly I need bifocals … what a rotten way to do a crossword. Would have been a shame to miss it though: like Cornick I thought this was a cracker with an outstanding percentage of clever clues.

    • jonofwales said

      Now that’s what I call dedication to the cause!

      • Cornick said

        Bravo Andy!
        JoW, I should by rights have found 22a a struggle, but I took the ‘disease’ as being SWAY back… Now if I use that idea in one of my own puzzles, does it count as plagiarism I wonder?

  5. carl said

    10ac is one of the most evil clues I’ve seen in a while.

Comments are closed.

