i Cryptic Crossword 1510 Poins

December 11, 2015

Crosswords from Poins, they don’t seem to come along very often. Not too much of a struggle though. On first reading 1ac looked fairly daunting to me, the length of it and the word Key in the clue . Key can have so many meanings I inwardly groan when I see it. This of course didn’t help when I came to 12ac where the answer was a key. 26ac held me up, where I was looking for an element surrounded by a fastener. A nice misdirection that I thought. I found 17ac a bit dubious with AD indicating Today. The solution to this and 1ac though were obvious when the checking letters were entered . Generally I found it a fairly entertaining way to spend some of my Friday morning.

COD?  8d  Isn’t Dicky to answer on books by Swift? (7)

The original 2011 blog is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/05/08/independent-on-sunday-1107-by-poins/

 

 

12 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1510 Poins”

  1. john said

    Do you have full solution?

  2. jonofwales said

    I found this a lot easier to start than finish. The RHS fell easily enough, but I got a little stuck in the SW corner, and on 11ac. AD for today I’ve seen often enough now it springs to mind, though I did spend some time wondering if this might have been referring to the original day of publication, always a hazard with these reprinted crosswords. 5d tickled me for some reason.

  3. john said

    thank you done!

  4. Cornick said

    Top half pretty much a write in but a few in the bottom got me scratching the old bonce a bit, including 17a where I thought ‘ends’ must have been ‘motives’ .
    Am I the only one who quite misses the stinkers from Nimrod, Bannsider or Scorpion? It seems we haven’t had any of those 9 out of 10 for difficulty for a while… or have I spoken too soon!

    • sprouthater said

      I quite like those tough ones as long as they are not on Friday:-)

    • jonofwales said

      Yes, I got hung up on ‘motives’ for a long time. I don’t mind a stinker, when I’ve got time to do one. Like a Saturday. 😉 It looks to me, though (famous last words) like the editor’s trying to keep the i crossword pretty light. Trying to appeal to ex-Telegraph readers?

    • AndyT said

      I like the variety in the i during the week, so yes, I’m missing the tough ones too. And much as I enjoy Phi I wouldn’t mind something longer lasting on a Saturday, like that little masterpiece by Punk a few weeks back. Still, there are plenty of crosswords available online to supplement the diet.

      As for today’s, not a lot to say. I got a bit bogged down in the bottom half too.

  5. Lozzie said

    Most of this fell into place for me quite readily, although I also got held up on 11A and 26A – looking for something more complex in the latter. I did think that some of the clues were a bit weak, eg 7D, 28A could have been much better, or am I being too critical?!!

    • jonofwales said

      I think it’s safe to say that Poins was trying not to over-complicate things today. 🙂

    • Cornick said

      I normally ‘mark’ clues with ticks, double ticks, question marks and un-smiley faces – you weren’t alone in disliking those two! 6 ticks though, which is not too shabby.

  6. allan_c said

    Interesting that so many comments have been generated here whereas there were none for the original fifteensquared blog. Maybe something to do with the puzzle’s original appearance being in the IoS rather than the Indy.

    • jonofwales said

      Yes, I’d think so. The weekend puzzles, and the Sunday ones in particular, seem to draw less comments. Many have long since recycled the paper, I suspect.

Comments are closed.

