i Cryptic Crossword 1509 Crosophile

December 10, 2015

Another good puzzle from Crosophile, that I found a little trickier than his previous offerings. I was never really stuck, but overall progress was slow, with the long book title in particular taking a while to fall. Last in 12ac, which was a new one on me.

Lots of lovely clues, but COD goes to 1d – ‘Place that’s next to tee in golf – this will come later (7)’.

Back to April 2011, when it was revealed that Crosophile would be covering Dac’s spot one Wednesday per month:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/27/independent-7653crosophile/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1509 Crosophile”

  1. AndyT said

    I’m not on this compiler’s wavelength yet, but today’s puzzle was certainly the best so far. Some of the clues were top drawer. The book title came to mind immediately – funny how that sort of thing happens (or more often doesn’t).

  2. Lozzie said

    Not too much trouble with this one, although I continue to have some difficulty with the “substitution” type clues such as 8D, which did delay me a little despite the obvious answer. As regards the book title, it was quite easy to deduce from the numbers of letters given without considering the clue!

    • Cornick said

      I reckon I can see a substitution coming before it gets into the drive, but even half a dozen checkers didn’t give me the book title – that is until the crucial J from jovial.
      Starting to warm to Crosophile.

  3. Roger said

    Bit late, I know. I still can’t find “sofa” as “tête-à-tête” in any dictionary.

Comments are closed.

