i Cryptic Crossword 1507 Radian

December 8, 2015

A fairly challenging offering from Radian, though one that with a little persistence was eminently solvable. Needless to say I missed the Nina, despite suspicions around what Wilson almost said, and a grid that just cried out hidden message. ‘Like 11’ didn’t work for me either in 30ac, but a minor niggle in an otherwise good puzzle.

COD? 27ac – ‘He may describe his job as ideal on radio (8)’.

Back to April 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/19/independent-7646-by-radian/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1507 Radian”

  1. AndyT said

    Inventive and challenging: I enjoyed that. On reflection 30ac does work for me, but the definition in 1d is open to dispute.

  2. sprouthater said

    Some clever wordplay here, some a bit too clever for me. Particularly liked 12a,14a and 27a.This is the second time that i’ve seen united used as a synonym for team recently, perhaps I’ll remember next time. 23d didn’t work for me either.

  3. Cornick said

    I spent most of this looking for a perimeter Nina, but still didn’t get it, despite the clue from the Wilson quote. Ho-hum, at least I did the bloomin’ crossword…
    Lots of pushing the limits here, which I applaud, but 5d made me come over all squeamish!

  4. Lozzie said

    I also enjoyed this, although, as with one of the original posters, I was delayed in the NE corner by presuming 7A would be TEA…. .
    Couldn’t initially believe my eyes at the anality in 5D!

Comments are closed.

