i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1499 by Phi

December 5, 2015

Saturday 28th November  2015

An enjoyable and straightforward solve last week, with my only problem coming right at the end on 14a – a computer operating system of which I’d never heard called, I craftily deduced from the wordplay, either  UNIL or UZIP.  Wrong!  It was UNIX.  Heigh-ho.

Uncharacteristically for Phi, I noticed an extra S doing nothing at all in both 6d and 12d.  Here’s the latter’s wordplay element: Dog’s exploit getting the female’s   which equals not TAIL FEATHER but TAILS FEATHER, surely.  In all earnestness, if we allow this sort of thing to go unchecked, the country’s done for.

COD:  15a  Giant expression of displeasure you once had, looking astonished (6-4)

Fifteensquared have all the answers here.

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1499 by Phi”

  1. Michael said

    I don’t remember the wording of 6d, but 12d seems okay. Dog’s = Dog has. Tail [has] feat [getting] her.

    • Cornick said

      Ah. Good point. Phi was right, I was wrong and, mercifully, the country is saved from ruination. 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    I have a question mark next to 12d, but not 6d – but as you say both are dire threats to civilisation as we know it. That aside, a thoroughly decent puzzle, as usual. Phi seems to be taking a rest from themes and Ninas, now that I’ve started looking for them.

Comments are closed.

