i Cryptic Crossword 1504 Eimi

December 4, 2015

Nothing very taxing here, a few long anagrams which I like, a couple of Latin phrases and a foreign author which I don’t like but Ho – Hum all very gettable.

COD  20ac  Call on Germany to become less vigorous  (2,2,4)

Dec 2010 Blog is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/13/independent-7538-by-eimi/

 

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1504 Eimi”

  1. AndyT said

    Agreed: mostly write-ins today. Not altogether happy about the two currencies – one would be plenty, thank you – and distinctly grumpy about 16d.

    (I might be less inclined to grouse if my copy of Chambers were to resurface as apparently the abbreviation is in there, but the blasted thing is still hiding out in one of several dozen identical cardboard boxes in the garage following the move earlier this year, my wife having come around rather belatedly to the idea of labelling them with something more informative than “books”, which is to say after they were loaded onto the pantechnicon and heading down the M1 at a stately 56mph, leaving me with a choice of the New English Dictionary John Bull Edition (1932) or the exhaustive but dauntingly user-hostile Compact Edition of the OED which requires a powerful magnifying glass and a lectern. Here endeth the stream of consciousness whinge, with apologies).

    I did, however, enjoy 17d. 🙂

  2. jonofwales said

    13ac and 7d held me up at the end, but quite straightforward apart from that. I always enjoy Eimi’s crosswords, and this was no exception!

  3. Cornick said

    Ooh look, atheist split at/heist two days running.

    Re 16d, there are some setters, like Klingsor for example, who would disagree with Eimi. Just because MO means Mondays Only it doesn’t necessarily follow that O means Only. After all NI means Northern Ireland, but the abbreviation for Ireland isn’t I.
    In fact neither Collins nor Chambers have O as a stand-alone abbreviation for only.

    Good puzzle though; I needed the dictionary to finish off 7d/13a.

  4. Lozzie said

    Couldn’t believe atheists for second day running! Agree with 20A your choice of COD, thought the anagram at 11A (despite repeating TRIC) was well worked, also 17D “IV” for “drip” I thought was clever. A good puzzle overall.

  5. I’m still stuck on 6 across and8 down presuming that7 down is aoili
    Help please

    • sprouthater said

      If you click on the fifteensquared link under my blog it will take you to the original blog where you will find the solutions and explanations.
      7d is chili:-)

Comments are closed.

