i Cryptic Crossword 1503 Tees

December 3, 2015

Well, that was surprisingly light and breezy. The SW corner caused a few issues at the end, but the rest was about as close to a read and write as I get. I thought 8d might be signalling some sort of theme I’d missed, but I don’t think there is anything. Always pleased to learn a new word via wordplay alone, even if I couldn’t remember which planet is the 2nd one. 🙂

COD? 23ac – ‘No believer in robbery (7)’.

May 2011 on the other side:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/05/19/independent-7672tees/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1503 Tees”

  1. dtw42 said

    Yers … the SW corner (28ac because I’d never heard of it, and 23dn because of the nasty definition, really) was where I finished, too. Filled in 15dn without really understanding how it worked. Agree that most of the rest of it was light enough though 🙂

  2. sprouthater said

    I’m of the same opinion, pretty straightforward with the exception of 15d and 23d also 9a as Mallard was never a train it is an engine.

  3. AndyT said

    A bit of sucking of the teeth today, and a few question marks next to clues. Rather a quickie by Thursday standards, wasn’t it?

  4. Lozzie said

    Yes, straightforward, I feel because quite a few clues gave very precise info, you could say designed to give a quick solve, eg 28A “SECOND planet” would lead straight to Venus. Personally I would have gone for something like “backward priest in the bottom, it’s hell” or maybe that’s a bit too crude!
    9A: I think the Mallard error can be forgiven as it’s a good attempt at something a little different – and many people would possibly not make the distinction between “train” and “loco”.

Comments are closed.

