i Cryptic Crossword 1502 Dac

December 2, 2015

My word, it’s good to be back. I won’t hear a word said against my dear aunt Azalea, but it’s a relief to return to the benefits of central heating and modern plumbing all the same. My sincerest thanks to Charmaine for stepping into the breach so ably for the last couple of blog posts: she really is a treasure, and so conscientious too. I believe she’s assisting Onions with another inventory of the wine cellar at the moment, leaving me to tackle the crossword unaided.

Well, I don’t know about you, but today’s puzzle struck me as a bit of a corker, even by Dac’s top drawer standards. For the benefit of those who eschew cricket in favour of more ruffianly ball games, I should probably point out that 10ac refers to this excellent gentleman. Far too many outstanding clues today to list, but it would be a shame not to mention 1d, 2d, 14ac, 19d … hmm: that’s getting to be a list. Anyway, there has to be a clue of the day, and although it’s tempting to go with 10ac I’m settling for 1ac:

“In Lourdes, I become member of a Catholic society (6)”

As usual, I had the devil’s own job finding the Fifteensquared entry. It appears that we’ve hopped back to December 2010:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/15/independent-7540-dac/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1502 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    I’m glad you knew who the cricketer was, because I had no idea. 🙂 That was my last one, in what I thought was quite a tricky offering by Dac’s standards. Liked 1ac, 4ac, 14ac amongst others, but my favourite was 18ac.

  2. sprouthater said

    Surprisingly as, I have no interest in any ball games, I knew 10a and it was my first entry, I think this clue has been used before. Quite a few were entered without fully understanding the wordplay but all became clear subsequently. Thought 2d to be particularly clever.

  3. Cornick said

    When I want to find a puzzle on ‘the other channel’ I simple enter the longest/ most unusual anagram into the site’s search engine and up comes a short list of options. Works a treat!

    • AndyT said

      Yes, that’s what Charmaine said. 😉

      Did anybody else really dislike 12ac, by the way? The solution that is, not the clue. My views on the gratuitous verbing of nouns are on record, but that one compounds the felony in hideous fashion.

      • Cornick said

        It produced a cross between a tut and a groan – given all the new words formed by blending these days, I suppose that’ll be a ‘grut’. You see words can get even worse!

      • jonofwales said

        Seconded. I shuddered.

  4. Lozzie said

    A difficult one for me, made even more so by convincing myself that 4A was PROSECCO (sparkling), 14A was JACK IN THE BOX (bounder) and 22D was DRAIN (D+ running water). Had to resort to help in the end!
    Otherwise I am sure I would have got 10A, as a native Lancastrian who, as a schoolboy, used to have a cricket bat endorsed by the honorable gentleman!

    • Cornick said

      I considered Prosecco and tentatively ‘pencilled’ in drain, but wasn’t the Matthe(w) hidden in ‘Room at the Top’ a nicely worked clue!

Comments are closed.

