i Cryptic Crossword 1501 Morph

December 1, 2015

Another fun, inventive crossword from Morph. There doesn’t appear to be a theme or Nina, unusually for a Tuesday, though 17ac is appropriate for the 1st December. I struggled at the end with 10 and 21ac, but the rest felt relatively straightforward, with a little thought.

COD? 4d – ‘Manipulation of service period (7)’.

Back to December 2010…

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/21/independent-7545-morph/

11 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1501 Morph”

  1. sprouthater said

    An enjoyable but not too difficult puzzle I thought. From comments on fifteensquared I see that Clegg was used instead of Cameron in 1a, I wonder why that was changed? Yesterday we had Di as the little woman today it’s Mo I do wish the setters would stop this and why is it snowing on my screen stop it !:-)

  2. AndyT said

    I enjoyed it too … not sure that Ximenes would have been at all happy about 21ac, mind.

    Who’s Clegg? 🙂

  3. Cornick said

    Having just finished a run of ‘A Christmas Carol’ with the local AmDram, Sprouthater, I’ll take your Humbug and raise you a Spirit of Christmas Present. I love the snowflakes very much. 🙂 🙂

    AndyT the ‘cycling’ idea is a perfectly legitimate part of the compiler’s armoury – we meet it so rarely because the words where it’s useful are as rare as hen’s teeth. In fact I’ve only met it once before – Phi gave us ‘cycling’, also with kimonos/ monoski about 6 months ago. Now surely there must be other words…

    • AndyT said

      I don’t have a problem with it, but I suspect that the late Mr X would because it requires the solver to find an unknown word and then modify it.

      How about ingrain / raining as an elementary example?

      • jonofwales said

        I must admit that I find the device uncomfortably close to being an indirect anagram, but it seems to have become pretty well accepted. If I was editing the crossword, on the other hand. 🙂

      • Cornick said

        Finding an unknown word & modifying happens all the time, e.g. ‘Topless drunk’ for (s)upped. The no-no for Mr X was with anagrams, innit.
        Ingrain/ raining is a goodie. 🙂

  4. Lozzie said

    re 28A: I can’t imagine they persist in their “mission” for retaining Rooney at ManU in view of his awful season, Chelsea remain interested if rumours are to be believed!

    • Lozzie said

      PS : Wow, I have acquired the power to control the direction of the prevailing wind with a simple movement of my cursor!

      • jonofwales said

        If you could get it to blow in the other direction then please, it’s quite fierce in this neck of the woods. 😉

Comments are closed.

