i Cryptic Crossword 1500 Quixote

November 30, 2015

A nice round number to start the working week. All pretty straightforward as you expect from Quixote, though I did have to double check 8/25 and 24ac, because I didn’t quite believe my answer for either! It appears that there’s some controversy about whether the definition at 9d is accurate, but to be honest I didn’t pay it a second thought when solving. Perhaps Quixote was referring to the cat. 🙂

COD? 13ac – ‘It could be on and on and on and on for folk past their best (4,7)’.

Back to January 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/01/09/independent-on-sunday-1090-quixote/

One Response to “i Cryptic Crossword 1500 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    9d struck me as a bit rum, but there’s a historical precedent … and it can refer to the cat, apparently. Anyway, it’s not as if the answer wasn’t as plain as a pikestaff. Agreed that 13ac stands out today, but I also like 5d.

Comments are closed.

