i Cryptic Crossword 1497 Crosophile

November 26, 2015

Just a quick blog as I’m struggling to get this typed out on my phone. Fairly straightforward today, I thought, in what’s fast turning into Crosophile’s regular spot. 

 
COD? 11ac – ‘It’d be usual if there were mass for little French one in such an event (11)’.

 
Here’s the Fifteensquared blog:

 
http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/10/independent-on-sunday-1103-crosophile/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1497 Crosophile”

  1. AndyT said

    Oh dear. I was hoping to say something complimentary this time, but as with the two previous Crosophile puzzles I have reservations. As Jon suggested last week the setter appears to be applying Listener rules some of the time, so last week we had “angular momentum” to indicate L, and this time “are” (100m², presumably) for A, both of which seem a bit rich for a daily cryptic. Not a problematic solve for all that, but I hope he tones it down a bit.

  2. sprouthater said

    Quite an easy solve I thought. While I agree with the comments of AndyT, what I do like about Crosophile’s puzzles is that so far he has not used any proper nouns either in the clues or the solutions.

Comments are closed.

