i Cryptic Crossword 1496 Dac

November 25, 2015

“Hello, Mister Battered’s place”.
“Batarde, Charmaine. You make me sound like a fish supper”.
“Sorry Mr. B. Where are you anyway? I thought you were supposed to be back by now”.
“Delayed train, dash it. Wrong sort of mildly inclement weather or something. Would you be an angel and take care of the blog again for me”?
“Well …”
“… Same rate as last time. Please”?
“My pleasure, sir”.
“Oh, that’s a relief, thank you. See you soon”.
“Byeeee”!

Either I’m getting better at these crossword things (ought to be – I’ve been doing them for over a week now) or else this was an easy one. Lots of nice clues which read like real sentences as usual, including a couple of funny ones. Honourable mentions to 1ac, 7d, 15d and 17d, but the award for Awesome Clue of the Day goes to 2d:

“Reprimand male servant when one’s not suited for work (5-4,6)”

The Fifteensquared blog from March 2011 is here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/03/30/independent-7629dac/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1496 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Uncertainties about 6d, and complete bafflement about 18ac (I needed every single one of the checking letters!), meant a sluggish time, though one certainly faster than Monday or Tuesday this week…

  2. sprouthater said

    Well Charmaine did better than me! 2d,3d and 7d were my starters making me rethink 1a which I had starting with P and SS in the middle:-) 18a was a guess. 14a though was a cracker.

  3. raskolnikov said

    Funnily enough found this offering by Dac quite easy.At least compared to yesterdays.14 across and 7 down being my top clues…..great blog and roll on tomorrow.

  4. Cornick said

    18a made me think of being in church chanting back during the service: ‘It is meet and ri-ight so-o to do-oo’. What’s that? Me neither, but they made us go to hear the reading of the banns. Quite enjoyed it actually.

Comments are closed.

