i Cryptic Crossword 1495 Scorpion

November 24, 2015

Geography, eh? And places on the Thames too. This was never going to play to my strong points. As it turned out, this proved to be ultimately reasonably solvable, with a few blips along the way (MARDEN, anyone else?), and recourse to Google. Scorpion seems to have got a little easier since I first encountered him in the Independent many moons ago, when I first started solving.

COD? 16d – ‘Instructions to house hunters perhaps: trade latterly quite depressed (4,4)’.

March 2011 today. We’re going to catch up at some point.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/03/19/independent-7614-by-scorpion/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1495 Scorpion”

  1. Denise Bowes said

    Bingo!

  2. sprouthater said

    I thought this was quite tough, luckily I got 9a straightaway and as I misspent my youth in the Slough/Windsor area most of these places were familiar to me. Really don’t like 20a Obedient = a crawling action ?

    • AndyT said

      Home territory for me too. I concur on 20ac: “obeisant” yes; “obedient” certainly not. That’s a foul by my reckoning.

      Congratulations to Denise for shouting first! 🙂

Comments are closed.

