i Cryptic Crossword 1494 Quixote

November 23, 2015

So it appears that the Don is here to stay on Mondays in the i, at least for the the moment, and very welcome he is too. 🙂 That said, I found this one much tougher than usual, with quite a few long answers that weren’t immediately apparent, and one or two unfamiliar terms. Time just over par for the i.

COD? 16ac – ‘What nearer Xmas may be dressed? A bird (4,10)’.

We’re into May 2011 already!

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/05/02/independent-7657-by-quixote/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1494 Quixote”

  1. sprouthater said

    As you say tougher than usual but a very good puzzle to start the week with. 23a and 25a were new to me but the clueing for both was excellent. I particularly liked 14a. I’ve just discovered that I can get the Indie crossword on my tablet now so I now have double the fun.

  2. AndyT said

    Yes, I thought it was a bit more challenging than usual too. All good stuff, with a cluster of nice ones in the NE corner.

  3. Raskolnikov said

    Definitely a stiffer challenge than usual,very enjoyable solve.
    5d and 10 across being my favourite clues.Another good ‘un from the Don.

Comments are closed.

