i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1487 by Phi

November 21, 2015

Saturday 14th November  2015

Well this was one of my favourite Phi puzzles for a long time – and also the first for a while with no theme, either hidden or otherwise.  Coincidence?  I couldn’t possibly comment.

We all like a bit of sauce, so the reversal of ‘in 1 C-cup’ for Puccini brought a chuckle, but for once I’ll go high-brow for my COD:

27a         Fateful forest, in which mad woman in pen died (6,4)

The 2011 blog from Fifteensquared with all the answers can be accessed by clicking here.

6 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1487 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Rats. I bet myself a mince pie that you’d go for 18d as COD. Splendid puzzle all round, wasn’t it?

  2. Cornick said

    It was close, but how were you to know my fondness for Act 5 scene iv of The Scottish Play?

    • AndyT said

      Many years ago Radio 3 broadcast a playlet called Hamlet: Part 2. As you’ll recall there’s something of a power vacuum in the state of Demark by the end of Part 1 … the sequel involved a good deal of casting around for someone to take over other than Fortinbras. Part of the dialogue went a bit like this:

      Horatio: What about Macbeth?
      Osric: Nope, sorry – he’s dead too. Killed by a forest, strangely enough.
      Horatio: Slain by a florist? ‘Tis an ignoble fate!

  3. jonofwales said

    It feels like an age ago, but I seem to remember that your COD was the only one I really struggled with. Now this week’s…

Comments are closed.

