i Cryptic Crossword 1492 Crosophile

November 20, 2015

The second puzzle from this setter and I didn’t find it particularly difficult at all, no idea how long it took me as the wife kept talking at me, I wonder what she was saying?

A lot of abbreviations and shortening of words used in the construction of this puzzle most were obvious to me but L = angular momentum was new to me and “heartless children in care” in 23a had me scratching my head. Last one to go in was 15d, didn’t really like that one at all. However there was a lot to like and I think my nomination for COD must go to

10a Creep after taking little time to flatter (5-4)

It was something about washing and raining. Too late now its pouring and I’m not going out in that.

Back to March 2011 here

 

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/03/21/independent-7621-by-crosophile/

 

 

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1492 Crosophile”

  1. jonofwales said

    Whoops re: the washing. 🙂

    I sailed through much of this, but struggled badly in the SE corner and with 5d. Didn’t like T for the, or OPES for opens, which should surely be opened for unlocked anyway? Presumably reflects Crosophile’s barred grid background, hopefully it’s something he grows out of. 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    Much the same here, and I felt that several of the clues were a bit rickety, 15d certainly. Never mind, I enjoyed it by and large.

Comments are closed.

