i Cryptic Crossword 1490 Dac

November 18, 2015

Surprise! Mr Battered has gone off on his yearly visit to his Aunt Azalea, and he’s taken Mr Onions with him.  (I hope his aunt is a better hostess than mine).  Mr B. was all bothered about missing the blog, so I told him not to worry, I’ll do it.  How hard can it be, anyway?  Mr O. seemed a bit dubious and muttered something about someone called Eliza Doolittle, but Mr B. just looked relieved and handed me a £50 note.  He’s a real gentleman!

It turned out to be harder than I expected – not the puzzle but the clue of the day thing.  Not 5d: too colloquial, innit? 15ac,22ac, 8d and 16d were all good, and 7ac is quite funny, but my Awesome Clue of the Day is 2d:

“Robber oddly snaffles telephone (4-6)”

Mr B. usually swears a lot when he’s trying to find the Fifteensquared blog, but I don’t know what all the fuss is about.  Silly sausage!  Here it is:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/01/12/independent-7563-dac/

Normal service will be resumed next week.  Byeeee!

Charmaine

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1490 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    I struggled a little with this today, don’t know why. Suspect it’s the howling wind putting me off. 2d was a good one, amongst many as always on a Wednesday!

  2. Cornick said

    Charmaine is a most able deputy – cheap at half the price!
    Mr Dac tricked my brain into behaving like so much tapioca with this one. Abandoned yesterday, retrieved today and much easier somehow… it’s funny how that happens.

Comments are closed.

