i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1481 by Phi

November 14, 2015

Saturday 7th November  2015

We have entered that hazardous time of year in the Cornick household when fires get lit.  It fell to distaff of the household to do the honours last night and maybe it was she who committed last weekend’s crossword to the fiery furnace.  What. Moi?  Surely not!

I shall do my best to remember:

A few obscurities and a Christian name – Iain – led me easily enough to realise there were going to be a bundle of Iain Banks novels dotted around the grid; Phi likes doing that sort of thing, doesn’t he?  But I needed Mr Google to enlighten me as to their names.  We had Inversions, Matter, Surface Detail and Algebraist, plus Menzies (middle name) and Banks, of course.

I seem to remember finding this one a bit trickier than the Fifteensquared bunch did, and I really didn’t have a clue with 13d Penderecki.  Well I did, clearly, but you know what I mean.  And am I the only one to find it astonishing that there are bloggers over there who think Penderecki no less obscure than Elbow?  Walk down the street and ask 100 people, Pointless style, why don’t you!

Alas I have no COD nomination, due to the aforementioned conflagration, but for the link to the 2011 blog (when Iain Banks was still with us) click here.

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1481 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Ah well, the unfortunate music teacher who was charged with getting my cohort through their O-level had a thing for Penderecki, so that was a write-in. Not sure what that has to do with elbows. My copy has disappeared too, but I distinctly remember being rather chuffed to have spotted the theme.

    • Cornick said

      Doubtless he’d be thrilled that I had a listen to some Penderecki – complete with quarter tones – as a result of Mr Phi’s mentioning him.
      Elbow are what’s known as a ‘rock band’ – discussed on the other channel.

      • AndyT said

        Cripes, that was a bit above and beyond. I’ve made a point of giving Mr Penderecki a wide berth ever since. Thank you for the clarification. 🙂

  2. jonofwales said

    My copy, as usual, was used to wrap the food recycling, so I can’t help much. 🙂 The composer I seem to remember also caused problems.

Comments are closed.

