i Cryptic Crossword 1485 Crosophile

November 12, 2015

I’ve got so used to seeing Crosophile’s name over on the other side that it came as a bit of surprise to find that this was his debut in the Independent, and indeed the i. I found his style took a little getting used to, but didn’t find this puzzle as hard as some did back in the day, with a time about par for the i. 1ac I suppose was the only real struggle. If this is representative of his work, then more please. šŸ™‚

Lots to like, but my COD goes to 15d – ‘I sat in car with map out – it should see you home (9)’.

January 2011 today:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/01/31/independent-7579-by-crosophile/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1485 Crosophile”

  1. sprouthater said

    My first one in was 1a but I spelt it wth an N which made 5d difficult:-). It was 6a,9a and 27a that gave me trouble.Even after Googling Nuthatch I can’t find any reference to it being a creeping bird? No complaints though,hope we get more like this.

    • AndyT said

      I wondered about the nuthatch, too. It goes about its business in much the same way as a treecreeper, except that it prefers to work upside down – but whether that justifies the definition is moot.

  2. AndyT said

    I had a few question marks today: probably a matter of getting used to a new setter (to me). I enjoyed it though, and thought 15ac was a particularly natty little number.

  3. Cornick said

    Ooh look, Crosophile is an anagram of Chris Poole… It seems he’s done a few things like the Listener puzzle (as Charybdis) before, and it’ll be interesting to see whether or not he becomes a regular here. A few goodies today -15a, 16a, 8d – not a bad debut at all.

    • jonofwales said

      Well spotted! He appears regularly in the Independent, so I guess we’re going to see a lot more of him here.

  4. dtw42 said

    Crosophile was new to me, and although I made a very slow start (initially scanning the clue list in desperation), progress improved quickly once I’d made a start, and in the end needed to pass only one clue to my girlfriend for her assistance (which she solved immediately … always frustrating!).

Comments are closed.

