i Cryptic Crossword 1482 Quixote

November 9, 2015

A reasonably straightforward start to the working week. Only the anagrams at 12ac and 4d caused any real issues, though that said 26ac was my last in. I had ticks by lots of clues, but my COD goes to 14ac, with 15d close behind – ‘Maybe knock the wind out of artist (5)’.

Back to February 2011 today, so perhaps we have Quixote on a Monday for a little longer.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/02/13/26166/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1482 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    All good, except 8d which is a real lip-curler of a word. I was fully expecting a different setter today, but happy to be proved wrong.

  2. Cornick said

    Lord only knows why Mr Q and I haven’t got on – he certainly has his fans elsewhere. Maybe it’s because I like ingenious clues to straightforward words. Today’s offering had straightforward clues but arcane answers like 1a, 1d and 4d which for me is the wrong way round. Heigh-ho.
    I for one shall be intrigued to see what the i do if this is indeed the end of an era.

  3. sprouthater said

    4d and 8d were awful. I really don’t like the use of people, living or dead, in crosswords although 14a was quite witty

Comments are closed.

