i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1475 by Phi

November 7, 2015

Saturday 31st October  2015

It is surely self-evident that, if a puzzle has a theme, a) the more themed words the better, and b) the fewer iffy words the better. It seems Phi sometimes eschews all that and just uses a sprinkling of themed words to get his juices going, but when the theme is classical symphonies – ah, well then he pulls out all the stops.  To get fully 9 symphonies plus the key word itself into the across lights was a fine achievement, even if it did require the slightly iffy words ‘celiac’ (American spelling) and ‘norths’ (?) in the downs.

The clues were all to the usual high standard, although I suspect that for all but classical music buffs the theme will have made this on the trickier side. At least that’s what the comments at Fifteensquared say, but  for once I think I found it a bit easier than they did for some reason – even though I only recognised a couple of the symphony names myself.

COD:  27a  Recalled my second fake orchestral piece (8)

For full answers from 2011 click here.

2 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1475 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    I like Rossini overtures … that’s bad, isn’t it? Very much infra dig for classical music buffs. So it was a surprise that most of the symphonies sounded familiar, or maybe I was kidding myself. Whatever: another Phi crossword well up to par, although the two iffy ones you mention did have me spitting feathers, admittedly.

  2. jonofwales said

    Another one who found to his surprise that he knew one or two, or at least managed to find some that sounded plausible. My first feeling, TBH, on seeing the theme was a sinking one.

Comments are closed.

