i Cryptic Crossword 1479 Anax

November 5, 2015

A stiff challenge from Anax today, after which I feel like I could do with a stiff drink. The clues were certainly 24ac with some thought, though it was slow, often sporadic progress. Perhaps more suitable for a Saturday than a weekday.

COD? 12d – ‘Control freak goes around middle of pub giving talks (9)’.

We’re still in March 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/03/17/independent-7618anax-2/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1479 Anax”

  1. Cornick said

    Possibly as much creativity packed into one corner of page 22 as in the remaining 63 pages put together. Hard work mind.

  2. AndyT said

    A bit of a corker, wasn’t it? Do we suppose that the little story alongside was picked specially to accompany the puzzle, or is that too much to hope for?

    22ac (which for a long time I really wanted to be Bulldog Drummond despite accumulating evidence to the contrary) was my favourite today, but there were plenty more with ticks next to them.

  3. Lozzie said

    To my liking. Quite a clever theme in the clues, I thought. Apart from 7D, being unaware of this meaning for gnome, it was a fairly straightforward complete.

  4. Roger Child said

    Given the number of iffy clues highlighted by Fifteensquared in his article http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/03/17/independent-7618anax-2/, I am surprised The I has had the temerity to print it again!

Comments are closed.

