i Cryptic Crossword 1478 Dac

November 4, 2015

Mr Cornick piqued my interest last week when he mentioned some sort of telephone which can lay bare the secrets of astrophysics. Turns out that Charmaine the chambermaid has one, and claims that it is “whoresome”. Not terribly enlightening, so I asked Onions – there’s a spot of irony there which was brought home to me p.d.q. – who is of the opinion that omniscient helpmates come in two varieties: the sleek and pocketable, and the sort which can make kedgeree. Food for thought, what?

Today’s puzzle by Dac was completed without digital assistance, although the smoked haddock won’t have done any harm. A bit more demanding than is usual for a Wedneday, I thought, but well up to the standard we’ve come to expect with plenty of clue-of-the-day candidates. Although it’s a nice one, I felt that the geographical element of 18d made it a touch obscure, to be frank, and whilst the juxtaposition in 14ac made me smile and 5d, 20d, 23ac and 12d were all particularly pleasingly constructed, my choice is the really jolly clever 17ac:

“Separation? Quite the opposite, as announced in Feb 1981 (13)”

The March 2011 Fifteensquared blog can be found here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/03/09/independent-7611-dac/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1478 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Yes, unusually challenging for a Wednesday. The SW corner took about as much time as the rest put together…

  2. Cornick said

    Finally caught up with my backlog of puzzles – ‘life’ getting in the way again…

    Delighted your staff are a such resourceful bunch Batarde. I wonder if the town of Sintra might be your kind of place? Mr Collins informs me that it is noted for its castles and palaces and the beauty of its setting – but not its i-phones – unless of course he just missed that bit out.

    SW corner (normally my favourite of the four on offer) was similarly inpenetrable,JoW, but all very satisfyingly polished off in the end.

    • AndyT said

      Embarrassingly, it was a matter of tumbling to the answer and then checking that Sintra was a real place – as previously stated geography isn’t my long suit. It certainly does appear to be a remarkable place, like Neuschwanstein with better weather.

      Charmaine is purely temporary, I’m sorry to say … in fact she’s playing hooky from another blog.

Comments are closed.

