i Cryptic Crossword 1474 Monk

October 30, 2015

Another Friday and another strenuous work out for my brain. I needed a little help with some of this as I had not come across 2d retrait before in fact typing it now it is shown as a spelling error and searching for it in Fifteensquared shows it has only been used on one other occasion and  that was a Times crossword. In 10d Tian a dish , not in my dictionary had to Google that, its French of course. I don’t particularly like clues that are just cryptic definitions but of the three here 4a and 6d were write ins for me whilst 13a was clever and required a bit more thought. 19a was my last in using dry as a synonym for ironic and B for Bishop when RR is the norm had me a little confused.

A satisfying solve although I still don’t understand why in 25d Going nowhere indicates Orate

My main complaint with today’s puzzle is the layout. The clues are set in a smaller typeface and squashed in to fit between an advert and the grid. Get rid of that celebrity rubbish and make more room for the important parts of the paper.

COD  22d King remains on edge climbing somewhere in Asia (7)

The original Blog is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/03/05/independent-7602-saturday-prize-puzzle-by-monk-26-02-2011/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1474 Monk”

  1. jonofwales said

    I found this a real struggle, and one that seemed to be willfully obscure. KA for spirit? RA + DI as a homonym for RADII? Not the way I say it…

    25d – going nowhere = having no speed, 0 rate, or orate.

  2. sprouthater said

    Ah I see now. I new Ka as a long time ago I read a Dennis Wheatley book called The Ka of Hillary Gifford

  3. AndyT said

    Barred puzzle obscurity, vocabulary and variant spellings in a weekday crossword. Way too much of a slog really, but I’m quietly pleased with myself for seeing it through.

  4. Lozzie said

    Took a long time to get into this on, then found most of it fell into place quite readily. I indorse the comment about obscurities such as YAKKA and TIAN (to my shame, unknown to me despite 30 years teaching languages!) and also felt some of the abbreviations required were simplistic. Thought 29A was quite a neat trick.

  5. Cornick said

    Agree there were too many obscure words in here – like retrait, indorse, vibronic, yakka, ka, maker and tertian – to clue the last in that list with ‘tian’ which was also obscure is a bit of a no-no in my book, but credit to Monk a) for some very inventive clueing elsewhere and b) for loving his mother. 🙂

Comments are closed.

