i Cryptic Crossword 1471 Raich

October 27, 2015

A mini theme based around 21ac today. On the gentle side I thought. 1d held me up for an age, as it’s a word I’ve only encountered in crosswords and never heard spoken. I’ve lost track of what Cheryl ?????????????? is called now, or for that matter ever has been, so 19d needed more thought than it perhaps would have in 2011.

COD? 15d – ‘Sad to see West beginning to oppose East? Ask for unity (9)’.

Here’s the Fifteensquared blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/01/03/independent-by-7555/

PS My i was missing staples today. Is this an editorial decision, or mere chance?

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1471 Raich”

  1. sprouthater said

    No staples here either:-)
    Cheryl who? I’ve no idea and don’t want to know.
    Both 1 and 7 down were new to me so had to consult reference books. The anagram at 17a was very clever . For the most part though it was all quite enjoyable

  2. AndyT said

    Bit of a mixed bag, I thought, but to accentuate the positve 9ac and 15d pleased me, as did the mini-theme. No staples here either, I’m delighted to report, although a lady on the letters page appears to like them.

    Righty-ho: off to pit myself against Cornick’s latest. I may be gone some time.

  3. Lozzie said

    Couldn’t work out why my copy was in such a mess, of course unstapled! I too found 1D required reference consultation, otherwise lots of anagrams (which I generally like) and nothing too devious!

  4. Cornick said

    Staples here in Cornwall – I guess we must get them from the top of the pile.
    Much the easiest Raich I can remember, with the top half pretty much a write in. Cripes, we must be running out of topics for a theme if 21a gets a puzzle!

Comments are closed.

