i Cryptic Crossword 1468 Klingsor

October 23, 2015

What a convoluted and devious setter Klingsor is, too clever for me. Unlike the correspondents in the original blog I really can’t say that I enjoyed this puzzle, maybe I was not in the right mood? Once I had solved a few the crossing letters enabled the solving of others but I couldn’t see where the leg in legacy (18d) came from and using “case” in 14ac to indicate using only the first and last letters was a device I had not seen before, luckily there were some clues that were of a more conventional nature like 1ac, 1dn, 8dn and 20dn.  For me today was a bit of a struggle. The excellent blog from 2011 can be found here

COD? 12a Shabby female, skinny, imbibes beer endlessly (4-6)

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/03/03/independent-7606-klingsor/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1468 Klingsor”

  1. jonofwales said

    Thanks for the blog. I’ve struggled in the past with Klingsor, and sometimes been somewhat negative about his puzzles, but I did enjoy today’s. Maybe I’m getting used to his style? Quite a few went in without full understanding of the wordplay, I must admit, though the answer was always clear. On the other hand, the obscure 5d had very easy wordplay, so a nice balance overall. COD for me was 9ac.

  2. AndyT said

    Like Jon I felt thoroughly entertained today: it struck me as a rather inventive puzzle, but not unduly obscure. Not awfully keen on 23d though, simply because it’s never crossed my mind that the “soap” in question could be considered as such. (More of a roman-fleuve, I’d have thought in my ignorance, never having seen it). My COD was 29ac: cheeky and unexpected.

  3. Bantam said

    I’ve had a very good week with the i. Even Anax didn’t seem half as fiendish as usual. This one however, brought me crashing back down to Earth. The top left corner went in relatively easily, but the rest, well, let’s say no more about it.

  4. dtw42 said

    I’m with sprouthater on this one. By the time I came home from work (a point by which I’ve usually either long since finished, or have got a handful of remaining clues to share with my girlfriend) I’d got less than half the grid filled in. Between the two of us we eventually finished it, but a lot of the clues were … weird.

  5. Cornick said

    I confess a bias here, because Klingsor has indulged me by editing four of my puzzles and putting them on the guest pages of his website: alberichcrosswords.com . He is something of a Ximinean i.e. you can trust him to scrupulously fair – and I thought he was here in every clue. Leg in legacy comes from the word ‘on’ as in the leg, or on, side in cricket. Worth remembering because it does crop up from time to time.

    • AndyT said

      It’s come up a few times recently, one way or another.

      Thanks for the link: I didn’t realise you had puzzles on Alberich’s site. The one you pointed us towards recently was a gem, so I look forward to attempting some more. 🙂

  6. Lozzie said

    Found this quite difficult, needed to view the blog for the explanation for 7D (cabot). Couldn’t get 23D as I had put PLUS in for 28A, (ULP= Unity Labour Party, Caribbean democrats?). Liked especially 27A (laid back).

  7. sprouthater said

    This puzzles seems to be of the Marmite variety. I think I would have enjoyed it more if it had been in Saturdays paper giving me the weekend to do it.

Comments are closed.

