i Cryptic Crossword 1464 Quixote

October 19, 2015

A bit tricky in places today, unless I’m rusty after the weekend. 21/22 and 4/9/1 in particular tripped me up. It appears that this may be one of the last few regular Quixotes looking at the comments on the original blog… Congratulations to Mark Goodliffe, BTW, on his 8th consecutive Times Crossword Championship win. No doubt he would have finished this in the time it took me to get my first answer.

COD? 1d – ‘Call for skin treatment (6)’.

March already, crikey.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/03/13/independent-on-sunday-1099-by-quixote/

7 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1464 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    I must be rusty too, then. The collective noun alluded to in 21d was familiar to me, but as a gathering of whalers, rather than whales. Turns out that Quixote is quite right, but I bet most people are far more likely to have come across Herman Melville’s definition. Small matter. My favourite today was 26ac, which did indeed elicit a groan.

    • jonofwales said

      If we’re to believe Google, the modern usage of gam is more likely to mean: a leg, especially a woman’s.
      “she slowly and methodically revealed one of those glorious gams”. 🙂

  2. sprouthater said

    I seemed to race through this until I got to 22a which was new to me and 21d was then entered as the only answer I could think of.
    Have we ever had a Mass puzzle in the I?. I remember when I first took the Independent finding his puzzles very difficult but with a little perseverance began to understand them and look forward to them.

    • Cornick said

      Yes I think so, and I think I liked Mass, bless him, but it’s been a while… all I can be certain of is that I used to get him muddled up with Math! Like Nimrod/ Nestor except that repetition of the latter pairing (and Nimrod’s extreme difficulty) eventually made them easy to tell apart.

      • AndyT said

        I think Mass must have been one of the original team of compilers with the Independent – he was certainly around when I started taking it in alternation with the Guardian, not long after the launch. The only other name I can remember from that era is Custos – were Quixote and Phi compiling for the Indie then? The two most memorable setters from those days were both with the Guardian though: Araucaria (of course) and Bunthorne.

  3. allan_c said

    I wasn’t sure which word was the definition in 6dn till I realised one would have had to slipped UP a little for ‘undergarment’ to be the definition. Which reminds me of a howler all to common in these days of predictive text – a hotel in Scarborough a few years ago invited patrons to eat in its brassiere!

    And talking of setters another regular in the early days of the Indy was Portia.

Comments are closed.

