i Cryptic Crossword 1462 Phi

October 16, 2015

After the last two days fairly gentle strolls through Cryptic crossword land I found todays offering a bit of a trudge. Having to solve 14/15ac to get the theme which is Prizes was a bit of a challenge as although an anagram the answer wasn’t a phrase I was familiar with, however once I had solved 1,3,6,7,8 and 13dn it all started to fall in place. Not usually a fan of Spoonerisms but I did enjoy 1dn. 16ac and 22ac were new to me but fairly clued making them solvable. It felt to me as though a lot of thought had been given to the thematic clues but some of the other clues were a little below Phi’s usual standard. My COD though is not  one of the themed clues and was my last entry.

5d – Serve it up after one’s entered immediately? Quite the reverse (4,4)

Everything you need to know about this crossword including comments from the setter can be found here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/02/04/independent-7583-by-phi/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1462 Phi”

  1. Enjoyable puzzle and I agree about some of the clues being below standard. I do, however, have one niggle. The Turner prize is not, nor has it ever been, a Literary prize.

  2. jonofwales said

    Thanks for the blog, and welcome back again! 🙂 I made heavy weather of this, and took an age. It didn’t help that 22ac and 16ac were new to me. Wonder if the difficulty level was the reason Phi got moved from his usual Saturday slot?

  3. AndyT said

    My favourite puzzle this week, leaving aside the usual Wednesday treat. 7d was the unfamiliar phrase in my case, making me an uncultured yahoo, no doubt. I assumed that the theme was 15acs of any sort, too. Like Sprouthater, my spirit generally sinks a little when a Spoonerism comes up, but 1d was a pretty good example.

  4. Cornick said

    I thought the phrase from the dodo: ‘All must have prizes’ wasn’t well known at all, unless of course you’re a fan of Daily Mail columnist Melanie Phillips, in which case, what are you doing reading the i !!

Comments are closed.

