i Cryptic Crossword 1458 Quixote

October 12, 2015

Every week the i caters for those amongst us who can’t quite cope with the fact that it’s Monday again. I learnt one or two new things as ever, and was quite happy with a grid that didn’t hold out for too long.

Had you heard of a charm of goldfinches before? I hadn’t, but 12ac still gets my COD – ‘Such is the charm one associates with goldfinches (10,4)’.

Back in time to 2010:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/12/independent-on-sunday-1086-quixote/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1458 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    No, I hadn’t heard that one either, but I like it. My favourite today was 15d: I felt thoroughly misdirected by that one and spent a long time trying to shoehorn “epic” in where it wouldn’t go. Perfectly obvious now, of course.

  2. Cornick said

    Well yes I did spot that this was the colletive noun for goldfinches and, yes, this does indeed constitute the first ever time its been useful 🙂

Comments are closed.

