i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1451 by Phi

October 10, 2015

Saturday 3rd October 2015

Ha-ha! Spotted one of Phi’s obscure Ninas at last! The tell-tale signs were the grid with unches top & bottom, several short words, plus the slightly odd words like oleo, daff and mealier which clearly weren’t there for the innovation of their clueing – oleo was a ‘hidden’ and an alternative like ‘omen’, for example, could have provided a better (and probably more amusing) clue… no, that ‘o’ on the end had to be for a Nina.

A quick search on Google revealed Marcus Falco to be the central character in a series of books by Lindsey Davis (although I hadn’t heard of either) which include ‘Alexandria’, ‘Nemesis’, and ‘Saturnalia’. Unsurprisingly Phi eschewed ‘Australian’ to clue the last – I suppose, like carthorse/ orchestra, it’s an anagrammatical cliché.

Oh the clues? Yes, good, I think… I liked 9a, 30a and 20d, but my COD goes to:

5d. Uprising in African country dislodged government control (4)

Click here for all answers and parsing from 2011 at Fifteensquared.

2 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1451 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes, jolly good, and happily I’d come across Falco on the radio (historical fiction in general and Romans in particular being Not My Thing). Knowing that “Didius” was bound to be concealed amongst the unchecked letters was rather helpful, then it was just a case of finding out what else was hidden in there and feeling smug for once.

    Must say that idothei has contributed a good deal to my enjoyment of crosswords, because this sort of thing would have passed me by every time before I started reading the blog. Many thanks!

  2. jonofwales said

    Theme, what theme? In my defence I was solving in a noisy childrens’ soft play centre with no internet access. This occupied a great deal of the time, if I remember rightly.

Comments are closed.

