i Cryptic Crossword 1455 Nitsy

October 8, 2015

A bit trickier than the last few Nitsys, though I never really got stuck. Just a slow, steady solve. 19ac was a bit naughty, but the rest was perfectly fair and above board.

COD? 5d – ‘Sitting target (7,7)’.

We’re racing through 2011 back on Fifteensquared:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/01/24/independent-7573-by-nitsy/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1455 Nitsy”

  1. Cornick said

    I still haven’t made my mind up about Nitsy; some crackingly good, some easy, some smooth, some really clever and one or two a bit dubious…

  2. AndyT said

    I rather enjoyed it, except for 19ac which sent me off to the OED. There I found “Eau: erroneous form of EA = canal”. Okay, that does ring a faint bell, and clearly we’re on the right track, so let’s see: “Ea: a river, running water … still in use in Lancs … in the fen-country applied to the canals for drainage, in which sense it is usually spelled ‘eau’ … “.

    Well done Nitsy, that’s perfectly fair, then. Fancy me not having an erroneous form of a dialect word at my fingertips … I ought to be ashamed. I’m not though – that sort of jiggery-pokery is bad form outside of barred crosswords in my opinion.

  3. Cornick said

    Yup, the other dodgy one was the mis-defined 18-word long 10a.

    And why not, I’m going to share my own recent clue for 24a:
    Fossil hunter’s potatoes go in all higgledy-piggledy.
    Well, the editor of our work magazine told me to make ’em easy!

Comments are closed.

