i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1439 by Dac

September 26, 2015

Saturday 19th September 2015

Dac again last Saturday, completed without too much trouble from the crossword itself, just lots of interruptions from my wife bursting into tears as we dropped our first-born off at Uni for the first time.

I really must try to extend my lexicon beyond the word ‘smooth’ when discussing Mr Dac, but he is just so, well, smooth.  Several fine examples of said last week; think I’ll pick out 26a for my COD:

Clever, like pupil getting only one low grade? (6)

I also did the Guardian’s Latin themed offering from Paul that day (including an emperor seemingly named Gluteus Maximus, arf) in which my LOI was as follows: Hero going after rebel in uprising?(4)  L?O?.  Given that my university-bound son is called Leo, I rather liked that!

The 2010 blog and comments are here.

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1439 by Dac”

  1. AndyT said

    I can’t think of a suitable synonym either, but it’s definitely true that whilst certain other compilers’ clues read like fragments of Prescottese, Dac is usually entirely innocent of mangling the language. A sign of a master at work, I reckon.

    As promised I did cut out the crossword – here it is in front of me – and have no recollection of solving it at all. I do, however recall a Gluteus Maximus appearing in an Asterix book, inevitably. 🙂

  2. jonofwales said

    A fairly straightforward offering if I remember correctly, again. All the best for Leo at uni! 😀

Comments are closed.

