i Cryptic Crossword 1444 Klingsor

September 25, 2015

Tough one today I thought but not nearly as impenetrable as yesterdays, although I will be honest and admit I couldn’t complete it. 17dn Moravia If asked I would probably guess that it was a fictitious place with a child catcher and 13ac even with all the crossing letters I just couldn’t see it. However  there are some excellent clues in this puzzle 1dn and 2dn 11ac and 23ac particularly stood out but my COD 4dn At first police protection restricts American making a bit on the side. (8)

2010 Blog is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/03/independent-7530-by-klingsor/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1444 Klingsor”

  1. Cornick said

    Klingsor’s hardest crossword in the i so far, by my reckoning, and I gave up on the NE corner, alas.
    He lives in the Czech Republic, so was probably eager to share a bit of his local geography with us, though that one too defeated me.

  2. jonofwales said

    I found this a lot tougher than yesterday’s, and not at all enjoyable, to be honest. 🙂 Too many where, even though I thought I knew the answer, I couldn’t make head or tail of the wordplay, so didn’t have the confidence to chuck it in. Less like this please.

  3. AndyT said

    Funny, I really enjoyed this puzzle. Still not entirely sure about 17d, but it was always going to be either that or Bohemia. Lots of ticks today: in addition to the ones mentioned above I liked 10 and 19ac a lot.

Comments are closed.

