i Cryptic Crossword 1441 Math

September 22, 2015

Did I spot the theme? Yes I did, and very quickly, after 1ac and 9ac fell into place. It’s 10ac and 24d, of course, and in particular this classic sketch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7GeKLE0x3s. From the comments on Fifteensquared it appears there’s loads of thematic material that I missed, which is a pity, as I found this a lot easier to start than finish. Some obscure definitions at 11ac and 21ac, though the former at least was an easy clue, whereas the latter wasn’t (to me at least).

COD? A write-in, but still a good one: 10ac – ‘Reinforcements arrived to capture British town (9)’.

Almost 2011!

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/28/independent-7550-by-math-2/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1441 Math”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes, I spotted this one, although I’m kicking myself for not picking up on 28ac. Still a bit baffled by 21ac though – were it not for a bit of schoolboy Latin that would have defeated me. Jolly good stuff all told.

  2. Amazing how many solvers admitted being unfamiliar with M&W. I twigged to all the thematic clues, but wasn’t familiar with the meanings of Police and Tony required to be 100% comfortable with 11ac and 21ac.

  3. Cornick said

    Quick, slow, quick: The first dozen or so clues plus the theme cracked in a twinkling, the brilliant 14/16 combo, plus tony, ripper and rep took me forever, then the last few were quick again.

  4. Lozzie said

    Managed to finish quite comfortably, although also unaware of the relevance of Tony and Police, similar to other contributors. I found with more clues than usual (e.g. 18a, 13d), it was necessary to work backwards by spotting the solution then justifying.

Comments are closed.

