i Cryptic Crossword 1438 Glow-Worm

September 18, 2015

Its Friday and usually a we get a puzzle at the tough end of the scale, but not today. Today we get Glow-Worm who sets enjoyable but not to challenging puzzles. I don’t know if its me but I seem to think we have had a lot more anagrams in the past week than usual, this isn’t a complaint as I like them, both 1ac and 23ac are worth mentioning. The last to go in was 12ac,even with all the crossing letters in place I struggled with it just doesn’t look right to me.

My COD Assist with noisy shoot (7)

2010 Blog is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/06/independent-7532-by-glow-worm/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1438 Glow-Worm”

  1. AndyT said

    For some reason I’ve got it into my head that Glow-Worm means a tough puzzle, but as you say this was mild enough. It took an embarrassingly long time for the penny to drop about 15ac.

  2. jonofwales said

    Many thanks for the blog. A gentler puzzle this Friday by a long way, though 4d/9ac/12ac did take as long as the rest put together.

  3. Cornick said

    Just to be different, the two which made me struggle were 19d and 24ac; kept wanting it to be ‘excrete’ and something like glee till the penny dropped. Good puzzle, I too liked 1ac.

  4. Lozzie said

    12a was my last also- as it took some time for the penny to drop over “feed” = paid. Liked 1a also.

Comments are closed.

