i Cryptic Crossword 1437 Phi

September 17, 2015

Is Thursday the new Phiday? Only time will tell. I prefer it to getting two hard puzzles in a row at the end of the week, as we did for a long time (reprints of old Thursday and Saturday Independent puzzles), but your mileage may vary.

Onto the puzzle. 5d, 12ac and the grid had me looking for a theme or nina, but it appears that there actually wasn’t one. The obligatory Latin phrase at 4d, and uncertainty over STE for good woman held me up at the end, but apart from that this was pretty plain sailing.

COD? For Phi, an unusually racy 19ac – ‘Wild man with sex aid grabs end of you with both hands (1,4,5)’.

Lots more here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/10/independent-7536-phi/

2 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1437 Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    I found this puzzle particularly enjoyable, with such a surfeit of good clues that I felt sorry for anybody having to single out just the one. That said, 19ac would probably be my choice too.

  2. Cornick said

    Well the grid looks at first glance Nina-ish, but the challenge of those six 13-letterers is what motivated Mr Phi today, I fancy. Throw in 2d/14d and Bob’s your uncle.

Comments are closed.

