i Cryptic Crossword 1435 Raich

September 15, 2015

I remembered that it was a Tuesday, and looked for a theme. I mean, really looked, when I was a little stuck at the end on 2d and 15d, but convinced myself that there wasn’t for once and struggled onwards. I’m not an Elvis fan, in my defence, but still… Wooden Heart, Lonesome Tonight, etc, are quite well known, and the name was literally spelt out. Thankfully, apart from a couple at the end, this was reasonably accessible, though it took me a while to get used to the style.

COD? 4d – ‘Music that could worry trapeze performer? (5)’.

Here’s the 2010 blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/07/independent-7533raich/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1435 Raich”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes, I polished the puzzle off without suspecting a theme too … an hour or so later I happened to glance at the grid and found a surprise in the middle. Well, at least just this once I didn’t need to be told.

  2. phil said

    Much like yesterdays I thought, most of it was straightforward with a few chewy ones thrown in to make it interesting. Never seen
    SUS = Texas before and didn’t particularly like it. Theme what theme I missed it again

    • Cornick said

      Didn’t like it either. Might just have been okay with Mississippi for SUS, but Texas is surely SWUS, if anything.

  3. Cornick said

    There just HAD to be either a theme or a Nina with a grid like that and, with the grid filling from the bottom up ( as it sometimes does) , the unches in columns 1 & 15 meant it couldn’t be the latter (or so I thought ). Ah-ha! Lonesome tonight! Not that it helped fill in the top half -apart from a tinsy bit on 4ac, and I still missed the actual Nina. Doh!

  4. Lozzie said

    One missed nina here also, despite having burst into song upon getting 4a!
    Agree with the praise for 4d, although I’m sure I’ve come across this clue before elsewhere.
    BTW: wouldn’t you say that oilfired should be 2 words, or at least hyphenated?

Comments are closed.

