i Cryptic Crossword 1434 Quixote

September 14, 2015

As noted back in 2010, this was a little tougher than usual for a Monday. I was doing OK until I was left with 2d, 8d, 9d and 15ac, which took about the same time again. I fell into the same trap as Flashling on 1ac, which didn’t help matters, and also felt fairly certain for a long time that Boris must be somewhere in 9d. A fairly obscure MAST didn’t help…

COD? 9d, despite the obscure nuts, because the B.R.. trap was nicely laid – ‘Mayor has what some deem unhealthy food containing old nuts (11)’.

Here’s the old IoS blog:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/19/independent-on-sunday-1087-by-quixote-who-else/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1434 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    Very much the same here, except that 8d fell early but 13ac held out to the end. Rather a good puzzle all told.

  2. Lozzie said

    A fair crossword, with the last few entries taking a while to solve. Convinced myself that 1d had to be “prolong”, should have got it more quickly as my car is in for MOT tomorrow!

  3. Cornick said

    One of my favourite Quixotes for a long time. Both Boris and the burgermeister were considered early on, but 9d ended up being my LOI. For me the best clue here was the &Lit 20a which was a beaut.

  4. dtw42 said

    Hm, I put 9dn in quite early and confidently (the red herring of Boris didn’t even occur to me), though I really didn’t know/understand how MAST came from ‘nuts’.
    No, the LOIs for me were 1ac and 2dn – the latter of which I admit I’d never heard of.

Comments are closed.

