i Cryptic Crossword 1432 Tees

September 11, 2015

September 11, 2015

It’s a puzzle by Tees today or maybe someone else set the top half of this grid because I found it surprisingly straightforward. The lower half however was more like what I expect from Tees, quite challenging but fair. My only complaint is the use of BB to define King. ok if you are into his music I suppose but I’m not so struggled a bit with that one.

COD? Lots to choose from here but I will go for 15d – In green Scots hillside buried English bones.

All the answers and more comments can be found here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/11/08/independent-7508-by-tees/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1432 Tees”

  1. jonofwales said

    Many thanks for the blog, another tough one! That said, all the clues were fair, even if I didn’t take the time to parse many when solving (26ac and 20d, for example), and there were enough that were accessible to give you a toe hold.

  2. AndyT said

    I’m never sure what to expect from Tees: this was a lot gentler than I was bargaining for. Agreed that the clues were fair, but there were a few clunky ones – 18d for instance, which offends against grammar and common sense. On the other hand 23ac was cheeky enough to make me smile.

  3. Bracoman said

    4d reminded me of my childhood when the chamber pot was known as a gazunder because it went under the bed.

  4. Cornick said

    Just when you think all the ideas for wordplay must have been used by now, along comes Tees with half a dozen newies in the same puzzle. The downside of such originality is a dud or two, but I’ll take it any day.
    Re 24a, at first I had it as T(ER)R+OR. Oops!

  5. Lozzie said

    A good challenging puzzle, managed to finish although I also stumbled over 24a: tried to make sense of “mobile” as the answer until I got 20d. Pleased to see BB = king, a favourite of mine who passed away earlier this year. Interesting variety of meanings for “close to” in 18d/25d.

Comments are closed.

