i Cryptic Crossword 1431 Phi

September 10, 2015

So Phi-day this week is a Thursday, in an effort to confuse us further. On the gentler side for Phi, I thought, though, with no obscure Latin phrases or musical terms to hold us up. I still have a question mark by 21ac, which despite the explanations on Fifteensquared doesn’t really work for me. If it’s a double definition as nmsindy suggests then ‘sandy spot’?

COD? 17ac – ‘I-I’m almost cured after relocation – this? (7,7)’.

We’re still in November, just, back in 2010:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/11/26/independent-7524phi/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1431 Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    I wasn’t bowled over with “sandy spot” either, although the inside of a 21ac is undeniably sandy. Otherwise, a satisfying puzzle and my favourite of the week thus far.

  2. phil said

    Lots to like in this puzzle except 21 ac . 18 d and 26 ac were, l thought both very clever clues

  3. Cornick said

    Was 21a a cryptic or a double definition? Maybe a bit of both, and a case of a half times a half equals a quarter. Otherwise the usual excellence.

Comments are closed.

