i Cryptic Crossword 1430 Poins

September 9, 2015

“Poins”. I said, ruminatively pushing aside the remains of the second kipper and buttering myself a slice of toast, “I don’t recall meeting anyone by that name.  Do you, Onions”?  “No indeed, sir” replied my valet, who has a knack for remembering these things.  Quite the mystery, then, as I generally expect a visit from my old friend Dac on a Wednesday morning.

As it turned out, said Poins was a congenial enough visitor, but not one to hang about for long.  As crosswords go this one wasn’t especially puzzling, with rather too many gentle underarm lobs for my taste, and not much of the guile I’ve come to expect on a Wednesday.  I don’t imagine it will have given much trouble.  Poins’ strong suit appears to be nice, intelligible surface readings (which is appreciated) rather than deviousness, and my COD reflects that:

11ac – “Revolutionary incurs a level of vigilant surveillance” (12)

The Fifteensquared blog from November 2010 can be found here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/11/22/independent-7520-by-poins/

9 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1430 Poins”

  1. jonofwales said

    Many thanks for the blog! It was a bit of a shock not seeing Dac today, but as you say there was nothing here that will have delayed most solvers. A welcome relief, though, it must be said after some we’ve had over the past week.

  2. I seem to recall that Poins has been setting the Independent on Sunday prize crosswords once a month for the past year at least..

    • jonofwales said

      His name has popped up semi-regularly on Fifteensquared for a while (though this was his debut there). I abandoned the Independent in favour of first the Times and then the i ages ago though, so I think it’s probably the first time I’ve solved one of his puzzles too.

  3. Cornick said

    My experience exactly, Batarde; except that my valet’s called Liver and my COD ended with the word ‘supervision’ 🙂

  4. Bracoman said

    Guardian and FT both far too difficult for me today so I was glad to have this one which I rattled through quite quickly. There was not even a theme for me to miss as I usually do.

  5. loulou said

    Just couldn’t get tailspin even with ?a?l?p?n though I convinced myself that it ended in pen.

  6. Lozzie said

    Disappointingly lacking in guile, IMO, the sudoku took longer to finish!

  7. allan_c said

    loulou, TAILSPIN was my last one in – once I realised that “follows” couldn’t be the definition for a word ending in N.

Comments are closed.

