i Cryptic Crossword 1428 Quixote

September 7, 2015

Was it just me or was this a lot harder than usual for the Don? This seemed to take forever. As per the original blogger I also have a question mark by 22ac – why TUM for little Mary? The ‘for picking’ in 11d just about works for me, but I can see why it caused confusion.

COD? 8ac – ‘See scientist react badly when tackled by a colleague? (14)’.

December already?

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/12/05/independent-on-sunday-1085-by-quixote/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1428 Quixote”

  1. Same here with “TUM”. Some bits I sailed through as per usual for Quixote; some other bits I had terrible trouble with. Had to stick 11dn into an online word finder, to be honest.

    • jonofwales said

      I’ll admit to checking that 11d was actually a real word, and not another one I’d made up. 🙂

  2. phil said

    I thought it a bit tougher than the normal Monday offering. Don’t understand “tum” or in 7d stable as a synonym for company.
    I did think 20ac was an excellent clue though.

  3. AndyT said

    A good deal more troublesome than is usual for a Monday, I thought, and still perplexed by “tum”. Over the weekend I’ve been dipping into a Times book from 2004-5, and none of the puzzles have given me this much bother so far … actually, it’s nice to be put to the test a bit more. I very much liked 20ac.

  4. allan_c said

    Re 22ac “Little Mary” is a euphemism for the stomach. It dates from 1903, then still a time when body parts were never mentioned in polite society, and alludes to a long forgotten play of that name by J M Barrie which explored the idea that one could change one’s life by what one ate. Chambers gives that meaning but without explaining the allusion.

Comments are closed.

