i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1421 by Phi

September 5, 2015

Saturday 29th August 2015

Last Saturday I had the good fortune to be staying with my mother-in-law; not for the cooking, Lord forbid, but because she knows a bit of Latin so could give me ‘Gaudeamus Ligitur’ – in fact she sang it – but don’t worry I shall recovered from the experience soon.

The 2010 blog here has all the answers and parsing. The blogger also comments that there are a high proportion of clues where a letter or letters had to be excluded from a component of the wordplay; which is something I’ve been meaning to mention for a while is a favourite Phi thing to do.

COD (just to show there’s no hard feelings)

4d: Adieu grim August, possibly, in welcome to University term? (9,6)

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1421 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    In theory I ought to know some Latin; in practice I’ve forgotten it all. “Gaudeamus igitur” is familiar though, because it appears in a song by Tom Lehrer. The excellent Mr Lehrer has been a great help with crosswords over the years: I am seldom stumped for a chemical element, for instance!

  2. jonofwales said

    I suppose an obscure Latin phrase makes a change from an obscure musical term in one of Phi’s crosswords. Oh, that’s this week’s. 😉

Comments are closed.

