i Cryptic Crossword 1426 Nestor

September 4, 2015

September 4, 2015

I like AndyT have been offered by Jon the opportunity to blog and perhaps foolishly took Friday.

Today we have Nestor not one of my favourite setters as I think he can be too obscure as 9ac proved. However, after reading through the remainder of the clues a couple of times I found that I had completed most of it but needed Google to check 9ac.

If the Nina was obscure in 2010 it is probably even more so now.

COD 17ac Old log-book format

2010 Blog is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/10/30/independent-7495-sat-23-oct-nestor/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1426 Nestor”

  1. jonofwales said

    Many thanks for the blog, and doubly so on what was definitely a tricky day, though an enjoyable one! 🙂

    For me this was one where it paid to put it to one side for a couple of hours, having come to a grinding halt halfway through. A spot of lunch, and the rest fell into place in no time at all.

    9ac seemed to me needlessly obscure, and while the Fifteensquared blogger commented that the crossing 2d was a famous company, it remains far from being so to me. Fortunately though that was a much simpler clue to solve. Some will say that the nina will have forced more difficult words into the grid, but to my mind, when that happens, it’s time to drop the nina, which I guess 99.9% of solvers wouldn’t have understood anyway.

  2. AndyT said

    Quite a stiff puzzle to be starting off with, wasn’t it? A bit put out with 2d (I dislike finding trade names in my crossword), but as with 9ac it was susceptible to deduction; on the other hand, just for once Nestor got a chuckle out of me with 6 and 26d. I actually made a mental note to look out for a Nina, but of course forgot all about it.

  3. Bracoman said

    I agree that the NINA was far too obscure as I am one of the 99.9% to whom it means nothing.

  4. Cornick said

    Agree that was a tricky one to start with, and also with your COD – was I the only one to put in ‘version’ for the last word? Slowed me up plenty!
    Spotted ‘Dansette Paranoid’ near the end and assumed it was the name of an album by Radiohead or someone else significant… Dansette Junior? Must be good to be worth such an elaborate Nina!

    • AndyT said

      I followed the link from Fifteensquared to see what the fuss was about, and whilst the music did very little for me the video was mildly entertaining. How’s that for a ringing endorsement? 🙂

Comments are closed.

