i Cryptic Crossword 1425 Eimi

September 3, 2015

I found this quite tough, and failed at the end on 13ac and 23ac. The latter struck me as being rather unfair, with both an obscure answer and word to be reversed. I was convinced there must have been a theme of some sort, with all the musical references, but it appears there wasn’t one after all.

COD? Loads to choose from as ever with Eimi, but I’m nominating 21d, with 18d a close runner up – ‘Obligation keeping Simpsons ultimately in Springfield? (5)’.

All the answers and more here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/10/21/independent-7493-by-eimi/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1425 Eimi”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes, that was quite a slog, wasn’t it? No complaints worth mentioning though, so well done Eimi. Incidentally, hasn’t 23ac come up recently? I’m sure it must have done because otherwise I’d have been stumped.

  2. Cornick said

    Loved this; challenging but ultimately very satisfying.
    Wasn’t Lyra the girl in Northern Lights? Had to check on its reversal in Chambers though.
    I think 6a is ‘hear’ (try) with the r recycled to the front.

  3. phil said

    Found this a bit on the difficult side. Never heard of 2d or 23 ac. Know nothing about golf or golfers and couldn’t see 15ac. Apart from that it was reasonably straightforward solve!

  4. dtw42 said

    Ha, I was in the wrong frame of mind when I started this one in the morning, and only solved four short entries. Then came back in the evening and polished them all off with relatively little trouble, apart from 3dn and 10ac, of which I’d not heard. I was fine with 23ac (and 2dn) though, so it just shows we’ve all got different areas of knowledge. Lyra is a constellation (“The Lyre” in English, unsurprisingly).

  5. Lozzie said

    Found this “challengingly straightforward” for my usual late-night start, guessed 6A & 23A without really understanding 100%.

Comments are closed.

