i Cryptic Crossword 1423 Scorpion

September 1, 2015

Well, yesterday’s took as long as the rinse and spin cycle to solve. This one would have been ideal for a lazy afternoon at the launderette. A tough cookie indeed. As it was I only had lunchtime, which was just about sufficient, though I did fail at the end on 21d and 27ac. It always going to be tough, being a Scorpion, and the theme only revealed itself after the obvious entries had fallen into place. Was it prescience on Cornick’s part that just a couple of Saturdays ago he said that ‘[t]his crossword took the biscuit, surely’, or inside knowledge? 😉

COD? 18d – ‘Tango at building site – part of lunch? (7)’.

Back to November 2010:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/11/16/independent-7515scorpion/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1423 Scorpion”

  1. Cornick said

    Takes the biscuit indeed! Just a coincidence, I have no powers of prescience, alas.
    I needed a return visit to get those last two, but twigging the biscuit theme helped, as did both sweet marie and Marnie being familiar enough, hereabouts.
    Cross referencing for 15a with 9d made this not quite a ghost theme, I thought, but almost. Perhaps we need a new term… zombie theme anyone?

  2. AndyT said

    I very nearly gave up today, but eventually limped over the finishing line having put the puzzle down for a while and let the subconcious work on it. To my mind this one stretched the limits of fair clue writing to breaking point, with some highly debatable wordplay. Is a rut a hole? I would contend not. And as for Pierre’s right, that struck me as tortuous to the point of absurdity.

    Ah well, I’m usually grumpy on a Tuesday!

    • Cornick said

      I also complained vocally about those two – and a few others… I worry about new solvers being put off by a puzzle like this, but simultaneously relish the challenge!

Comments are closed.

