i Cryptic Crossword 1411 Hypnos

August 18, 2015

A game of two halves. The LHS was a nice enjoyable puzzle that fell reasonably easily, the RHS a bit of a nightmare that I found a bit of a grind. Oh well. Our theme was TV dramas, several of which I’d forgotten, including 8d which may explain some of my difficulties in that area of the grid. LT for LOOT = LIEUTENANT was rather unfair, I thought.

COD? 4ac – ‘Something put on board to be consumed in east of Provence? (8)’.

The 2010 blog can be found here, with an interesting comment by Mike Laws at @20.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/10/18/independent-7490-by-hypnos/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1411 Hypnos”

  1. AndyT said

    I found this puzzle distinctly tiresome, with one or two clever clues, but the majority were unduly convoluted … clever-clever in other words. Nonsensical surface readings abounded today. 4ac is definitely my COD too.

  2. Cornick said

    Agree about lhs/ rhs split, but as I finished this in the middle of a wood, miles from a computer or dictionary, it can’t have been as hard as some others. BUT the parsing of several was out of my ken, even if the definitions were clear.

  3. dtw42 said

    At the risk of sounding repetitive, another case of “me too” today – did the left-hand 3/5ths or so, then roped in my GF to help with the rest which we finally finished without understanding all the wordplay in a few. Also unimpressed by LT = lieutenant = loot.

Comments are closed.

