i Cryptic Crossword 1408 Morph

August 14, 2015

Theme, what theme? Oh, cats and dogs, which is timely, as it’s been hammering down all morning. Inventive and interesting to solve, even if you did miss the theme, as is always the case with Morph. 24d completely baffled me, after I’d cheated to complete the crossword, ignorant as I was of the answer or the theme. Best puzzle of the week?

COD? Amongst many good ones, 11ac – ‘EMI involved with remixed hip-hop from east London, where soft rock went down badly? (7)’.

I had loads of questions regarding the wordplay at the end, that I could perhaps have sorted out myself, but it was quicker to nip over to Fifteensquared. 🙂

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/11/02/independent-7503-by-morph/

9 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1408 Morph”

  1. AndyT said

    Puzzle of the week for me, certainly. I do have a couple of minor quibbles (discussed in the unusually lively comments section at Fifteensquared), but since this was something of a tour de force it would be churlish to say anything other than “bravo”.

  2. dtw42 said

    Ah, glad they were able to explain 24dn, which I didn’t understand. (Didn’t know the answer word either, which didn’t help.)

  3. loulou said

    Not a bad effort for me -only 7 missing including taiga -hell would have frozen over before I could get that

  4. Cornick said

    Only met 24d recently; in my day we just called it ‘Coniferous Forest’ but schools are all using the term nowadays.
    I loved this puzzle. Ticked all the boxes for me and confirms Morph’s place on my list of very favourite setters.

  5. Please could someone explain 18 across for me. 19th letter is S, – PLAN S. Where does the T come from?

Comments are closed.

