i Cryptic Crossword 1407 Nitsy

August 13, 2015

A nice mix of easy and harder clues today, with one or two I needed Fifteensquared to explain. Was I the only person tempted for an age by PRESSING for 25ac, despite the impossibility then of 23d?

Biggest groan of the day goes to 14d. COD to 5d – ‘Leave work experience? (7,7)’.

September 2010 today:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2010/09/27/independent-7472-by-nitsy/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1407 Nitsy”

  1. AndyT said

    Nope, me too. That was one of a number of clues which made me grumpy today.

  2. Cornick said

    To live in straightening times is to live in pressing times, so I put in pressing and gave up on 23d. Don’t get dressing as meaning straightening, alas, but overall this was a super puzzle with loads of cracking ideas from a setter I’ve barely met before.

    • AndyT said

      Must admit that particular connotation didn’t cross my mind, but in any case I’d say the times were straitened, if pressed. 🙂 Furthermore, I’d have been happier with clothing rather than clothes – that wasn’t the only shaky definition today in my opinion. As you say, some good ideas too though.

      • Cornick said

        You’re right, of course; straitened. Yes, it was a bit patchy, but I admired the creativity, even if it probably had afew duffers!

  3. dtw42 said

    I didn’t finish this one. Got bored with struggling with it, TBH. Oh well.

Comments are closed.

